Prince William County DUI Lawyer
Virginia law is tough on DUI charges, but an arrest does not have to bring with it all of the penalties of a DUI conviction. If you have been arrested for DUI, take comfort in knowing that a Prince William County DUI lawyer can help secure a favorable outcome to your case. Contact a DUI lawyer today.
- How Are DUI Cases Handled in Prince William County?
- Trends and Common Mistakes
- Penalties For Driving Under the Influence in Prince William County
- Penalties For a 2nd and 3rd Offense
- Refusing a Field Sobriety or Preliminary Road Side Breath Test in Prince William
- What Constitutes Driving Under the Influence in Prince William County?
- Consequences For Refusing a Blood Test in Prince William
- Law Enforcement Attitude Toward DUI Charges in Prince William
- Prince William DUI Frequently Asked Questions
- Process of a DUI Stop in Prince William County
- Your Rights During a DUI Stop
- Field Sobriety Tests in Prince William County
- Field Sobriety Tests As Evidence in Prince William County
- Arrest Process in Prince William DUI Cases
- Prince William DUI Cases in Court
- Top 3 Things To Know About DUI Cases in Prince William
Why Contact a Prince William County DUI Lawyer?
In Virginia, a person can be convicted of DUI if he or she has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. In some cases—if a driver is under 21 or a commercial driver with a CDL, for example—a DUI arrest may come with a much lower BAC.
Unfortunately, many people do not realize that there are strong DUI defense options even with breath analysis test indicating a BAC over the limit.
There are several reasons to contact a Prince William DUI attorney as soon as possible after an arrest:
If you are arrested for DUI in Prince William County, help is only a phone call away. Speak with one of our Prince William DUI defense lawyers today.
DUI Penalties in Virginia
Virginia DUI penalties depend upon a number of factors, including whether the charge is for a first offense or subsequent offense, whether the driver was transporting a juvenile, and whether the driver’s BAC is significantly elevated.
Virginia Code Section 18.2-266 is the state law against driving while impaired or under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The penalties for DUI are described in Section 18.2-270.
In general, a first offense of DUI is a Class 1 misdemeanor. As a Class 1 misdemeanor, the possible penalties upon conviction are a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Typically, the penalties for DUI are far less than the maximum allowed by law. However, Virginia law does provide mandatory minimum fines and jail terms for first offense DUI under certain conditions:
The penalties for second and subsequent offenses vary depending on the span of time between the preceding DUI charge and the current DUI charge.
A third DUI within 10 years is a Class 6 felony, and a fourth DUI conviction carries a mandatory minimum sentence of one year in prison making contact with a Prince William DUI lawyer imperative.
In addition to fines and jail or prison time, a DUI conviction may bring with it other legal and administrative penalties:
Although penalties for Virginia DUI can be quite severe, a Prince William County DUI attorney can advocate on your behalf, working to find solutions that work for you.
Contacting a Prince William DUI Attorney
If you are arrested for DUI in Prince William County, don’t panic. Call our office today to speak with a DUI defense attorney who can help.
By: Artese J.
Title: Awesome Attorney
Mr. Crowley is an awesome attorney. He represented me when I needed him and did everything he could for me. He's patient, listens, and doesn't judge anyone And communicates well. I trust him and I know that he'll treat all of his clients as he treated me.