Prince William County Solicitation Lawyer
Receiving charges for the solicitation of a prostitute is difficult due to the extremely personal nature of the accusation. However, an experienced Prince William County solicitation lawyer can help to calm your concerns by working to have the charges against you reduced or dismissed.
How a Prince William County Solicitation Lawyer Can Help
A seasoned Prince William County solicitation attorney will explore the details of your case, looking for potential circumstances that warrant a reduced penalty on your behalf. Facts like your previous criminal history, reputation, and cooperation will go a long way to lowering your penalty. Thus, it may be in your best interest to contact a knowledgeable solicitation lawyer in Prince William County as soon as possible.
Our lawyers have an intimate understanding of the legal system in Prince William County and can help clients by:
- Investigating the claims associated with your solicitation charge
- Demonstrating in court that you did not knowingly engage in certain actions defined by Virginia law
- Demonstrating how certain acts that may have taken place do not fit the legal definition of solicitation
- Using a clean record to petition for lower penalties
- Negotiating a plea bargain if you do not wish to fight the charges
Please contact our firm if you would like to discuss your solicitation charge with a Prince William County solicitation lawyer.
What is Solicitation?
Most people are aware that accepting money in exchange for sex is against the law. However, the other side of the transaction, the person who offered the money, can also risk severe punishment if convicted.
Virginia Code Section 18.2-346 states that it is unlawful for you to have offered money to another adult person in exchange for sexual acts. If you are convicted of soliciting an adult prostitute, you would face a Class 1 misdemeanor conviction.
Penalties for Solicitation in Virginia
In Virginia, being convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor carries a possible penalty of up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine as high as $2,500. Depending upon the age of the person you offered money to in exchange for a sexual act, that penalty could increase.
If you are found to have offered money in exchange for a sexual act to be performed by a minor who was at least 16 years old, but less than 18 years old, then you could be facing a Class 6 felony conviction.
In Virginia, a Class 6 felony conviction carries a penalty of one to five years in prison with a possible fine that could be as high as $2,500.
If the minor you solicited was younger than 16 years of age, the crime is elevated to a Class 5 felony. In that case, you would be facing one to 10 years in prison with a fine as high as $2,500 making contact with a Prince William County solicitation lawyer even more important..
Reducing Solicitation Penalties in Virginia
It is true that the penalties associated with solicitation are harsh and can lead to financial consequences in addition to jail time. However, Virginia does leave the door open for the possibility of a reduced penalty.
Section 18.2-346 allows the court to use its discretion to lower your potential penalty if it sees fit. In fact, the court may use its discretion to mitigate your penalty in a way that keeps you out of jail altogether.
One of the most effective ways to pursue reduced penalties is to call our firm and speak with a Prince William County solicitation lawyer.