Manassas Prostitution Lawyer
By their nature, prostitution charges are personal and can be very stressful to deal with. With the help of a Manassas prostitution lawyer, however, you can successfully move past your charges and minimize the impact they may have on your professional and personal life.
Our prostitution attorneys in Manassas understand what it’s like to work with clients accused of prostitution, and they use the power of that experience to fight for the best possible outcome for every client. This page provides a brief overview of certain prostitution charges in Manassas and elsewhere in Virginia, but the best way to learn more is to call our firm today.
Working with a Manassas Prostitution Attorney
There are certain distinct advantages that come from working with a Manassas prostitution lawyer. The legal advocates at our private criminal defense firm are professional and discrete and can both investigate and litigate your case with the least possible intrusion and interference. Some other benefits of working with our prostitution attorneys include:
Time is often important when dealing with sensitive legal matters, so please contact us quickly to conduct your free initial legal consultation.
Prostitution Charges in Manassas
Prostitution offenses refer to the illegal practice of commercial sexual conduct [Virginia Criminal Code § 18.2-346] and can include a variety of charges, depending on the circumstances of the crime. If someone performs any sex act for money or an equivalent return (such as drugs or any sort of compensation), they can be charged with prostitution. This is charged as a class 1 misdemeanor, and the accused can face up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.
If prostitution offenses involve the crossing of state lines, or abduction for the purposes of prostitution, federal charges are possible, with penalties much more punitive than Commonwealth laws. Those accused need the experienced counsel of a seasoned Manassas prostitution lawyer.
Additionally, all who are arrested for offering money to a prostitute to perform any sexual favor is charged with a class 1 misdemeanor of solicitation of prostitution, regardless of whether the act was performed or not [VA Code 18.2-346(B)] (maximum $2,500 fine and/or up to a year in jail).
Two statutes address prostitution-related offenses involving underage participants.
Soliciting prostitution from a minor is charged against those who seek sexual favors from someone who is 16 years old. It is a class 6 felony [VA Code 18.2-346(B)(i)]. The punishment upon conviction is one to five years in prison, though a discretionary maximum of 12 months in jail for a first-time offense is possible. Once convicted, a fine of up to $2,500 may also be ordered [VA Code 18.2-10(f)].
On the other hand, if an individual is found guilty of soliciting prostitution from a minor under 16 years of age, it’s a class 5 felony [VA Section 18.2-346(B)(ii)]. The penalty for this conviction is one to 10 years in prison, with the same discretionary reduction of 12 months in jail, plus a possible fine of up to $2,500 [VA Section 18.2-10(e)].
The Commonwealth’s “pimping law” [VA Section 18.2-348] covers those who transport anyone to any place for the purpose of prostitution. This is a class 1 misdemeanor with a sentence upon conviction of a maximum 12 months in jail and/or a fine up to $2,500. Those who share information with others that aid them in finding a prostitute can also be found guilty of a pimping and receive the same penalty.
Other Prostitution-Related Charges
- Keeping, living in, or visiting a “bawdy place” [VA Code 18.2-347] – These constitute any location (indoors or outdoors) used to perform prostitution. One who keeps, lives in, or visits a bawdy place for the purposes of prostitution is charged. The maximum is $2,500 and/or up to a year in. Each day that the bawdy place is kept, lived in, or visited can be charged as a separate offense (and corresponding penalty for each count).
- Receiving money for procuring prostitution [VA Code 18.2-356] – One who accepts money or something of pecuniary value in exchange for placing someone in a bawdy place, or any location where prostitution is performed is alleged to have committed a class 4 felony, which is punishable by two to 10 years in prison and a possible fine of up to $100,000 upon conviction [VA Code 18.2-10(d)].
- Receiving money from a prostitute’s earnings [VA Code 18.2-357] – If someone is knowingly “paid” money or anything of value from a prostitute, under any circumstances which may or may not have involved the activity itself, they can be charged with a class 4 felony and face a sentence of two to 10 years in prison and a possible fine of up to $100,000. For example, if a prostitute shares her income with a boyfriend or roommate who is not involved in her “profession” (like helping to pay rent on an apartment they share), that person could be charged.
Retain an Experienced Prostitution Lawyer in Manassas
All who are alleged to have committed any prostitution-related offense in Virginia are best served by an experienced Manassas prostitution lawyer. Contact our legal team today in order to complete your initial consultation, completely free of charge.