Manassas Gun Lawyer
Virginia tends to respect the rights of gun owners. However, regulations exist in every state to protect the safety of its citizens, and it can sometimes be easy to get caught in the conflict between 2nd amendment rights and public safety. If you are accused of any type of infraction involving guns, a Manassas gun lawyer will be able to help you fight your case. Call for a free consultation with a lawyer in Manassas today.
The Importance of a Manassas Gun Attorney
The lawyers at our firm understand how important it is to have a strong defense plan when facing gun charges. When you decide to work with one of our Manassas gun lawyers, he or she will quickly investigate your case to proactively assess your defense options.
Certain gun charges can either enhance or accompany other criminal charges, such as assault or robbery. In these circumstances, it’s important to feel confident that your lawyer can handle the complexities of a multi-charge case. Fortunately, the Manassas gun lawyers at our firm have experience handling all sorts of gun charges—large and small—and know what it takes to help you get past such legal issues.
Gun Laws in Manassas
Under Virginia Code Section 18.2-56.1, handling a gun in a way that endangers life, limb, or property is a misdemeanor carrying a penalty of up to 12 months in prison, a fine of up to $2,500, or both. If the recklessness was wanton and someone gets seriously injured, the penalty can become a felony with a prison sentence of 1-5 years (a jury or court can change this to up to 12 months and up to a $2,500 fine).
Under Virginia Code Section 18.2-56.2, keeping a loaded, unsecured firearm in a place a child under 14 can reach it is a misdemeanor which carries a $500 fine. However, allowing someone under 12 to use a firearm without supervision is a much more serious misdemeanor, carrying a penalty of up to 12 months in prison, a $2,500 fine, or both.
Gun Permit Laws
While certain types of guns can be carried openly in many parts of Virginia, carrying a concealed weapon without a concealed carry permit is illegal. Under Virginia Code Section 18.2-308, doing so is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500. A 2nd conviction is a class 6 felony (1-5 years in jail), and a 3rd is a class 5 felony (1-10 years in jail); in both cases, a court or jury can change the penalty to up to 12 months in jail, a fine of up to $2,500, or both.
A Manassas gun lawyer will be familiar with exceptions to these laws, which could help your defense, and include:
- If the incident happened in the defendant’s home or business.
- If the defendant was transporting the gun, unloaded and secured, to or from a training ground, repair shop, or place of purchase.
- If the defendant possesses a permit from another jurisdiction that meets Virginia’s reciprocity requirements.
Possession of any of the following weapons in working condition is illegal in Virginia:
- Machine guns (18.2-290)
- Sawed-off shotguns or rifles (18.2-300)
- Guns made of plastic (18.2-308.5)
- Any Striker 12 or “streetsweeper” shotgun (18.2-308.8)
The penalties vary depending on the infraction, but they are all felony charges.
Call a Manassas Gun Lawyer
Striking the proper balance between gun safety and gun rights can be difficult, and sometimes a citizen gets caught up in that difficulty. If you are facing a gun charge, a Manassas gun lawyer can help defend your rights and minimize consequences. Consultations are free, so call today.