Fairfax Hit and Run Lawyer

Hit and run accidents, also known as failure to report an accident, can have serious consequences – especially if the other driver was hurt and could not receive medical proper medical attention because the other driver fled the scene.

If you have been charged with a hit and run in Virginia, contact a Fairfax hit and run lawyer. An experienced traffic attorney can review the circumstances surrounding the allegations against you and determine what legal defenses are available to you. Hit and run accidents should be taken very seriously.

Defining Hit and Run Law

Anyone driving in Virginia must stop at the scene of an accident in which they are involved – regardless of fault. They must give their name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration information to the other person or leave a note on their car if the vehicle is unoccupied.

They must also offer reasonable assistance to anyone injured by taking them to a physician, surgeon, or hospital if it is apparent that medical treatment is necessary or is requested by the injured person. They can do this themselves or by calling someone to help if they are not physically able and must also inform the nearest police department of the accident.

Fairfax hit and run lawyers know that Virginia law distinguishes offenses by damage done to unattended property, attended property, and bodily injury or death:

  • Damage to unattended property less than $250
  • Damage to unattended property more than $500
  • Damage to attended property less than $1,000
  • Damage to attended property more than $1,000
  • Injury or death

Commmon Penalties for Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses

The consequences for hit and run accidents are serious and there are often valid reasons why someone did not, or could not, stop to assist. That is where a Fairfax hit and run lawyer can help the most. Damage to unattended property is considered a Class 4 misdemeanor and can result in fines of up to $250 and three points on a license.

Damage to unattended property is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor and can result in up to one year in prison, fines of up to $2,500, and three points on a license. Damage to unattended property is also considered a Class 1 misdemeanor and can result in up to one year in prison, fines of up to $2,500, driver’s license suspension for up to six months, and four points on a license.

Damage to attended property is also considered a Class 1 misdemeanor and can result in up to one year in prison, fines of up to $2,500, driver’s license suspension for up to six months, and four points on a license.

What Are Class 5 Felonies?

Damage to attended property is a Class 5 felony and can result in up to 10 years in prison, fines of up to $2,500, driver’s license revocation for up to one year, and six (6) points on a license. Injury or death is a Class 5 felony and can result in up to 10 years in prison, fines of up to $2,500, driver’s license revocation for up to one year, and six (6) points on a license. It can also be a Class 6 felony for passengers which can result in up to five years in prison and fines of up to $2,500.

Speaking with a Fairfax Hit and Run Attorney

Failing to abide by the law can result in serious consequences. In addition to having a permanent criminal record which must be shared with anyone who performs background checks, Virginia imposes strict penalties on both drivers and passengers convicted of hit and run offenses.

If you have been charged with a hit and run in Virginia, do not attempt to fight those charges without speaking with an experienced Fairfax hit and run lawyer first. Let an attorney review the charges against you, perform a separate pre-trial investigation, and determine what legal options make the most sense for you.