Fairfax Underage DUI Lawyer
If you have been accused of underage drunk driving, contact a Fairfax underage DUI lawyer immediately. DUI charges can be difficult to navigate on your own. A qualified DUI attorney could examine the charges that have been brought against you and determine an appropriate way to navigate the charges.
DUI Penalties for Individuals Under 21
Penalties for an individual under 21 are the same as the penalties for an individual over the age of 21. An underage DUI is a Class One misdemeanor that could involve a fine of up to $2,500 and up to a year in jail. A lower blood alcohol content will generally incur a lower penalty. However, if the drunk driver causes an accident, injury, or death, the penalties could be greater. In addition, someone underage who is charged with driving after consuming alcohol will have their driver’s license suspended for a period of one year.
Alternatives to Jail
It is not uncommon for an individual under 21 to be sentenced to community service. Fairfax underage DUI lawyers could help individuals advocate for community service as opposed to jail time. Generally, community service consists of a mandatory minimum of 50 hours. If an individual is able to complete their 50 hours of community service before their initial court appearance, it could show the judge that they are taking proactive steps in their case.
Restricted License Program
Although an individual’s license will be suspended, they could still drive through the restricted license program. The restricted license enables a person to drive to school, attend court-required appointments and other approved activities. In order to be eligible, an individual must enroll in the state alcohol safety action program and receive the court’s approval to obtain a restricted operator’s license. A qualified Fairfax underage DUI lawyer could work with an individual to apply.
In Virginia, all criminal convictions and charges stay on an individual’s record permanently. An offense can follow an individual for the rest of their life. This rule applies to individuals drunk driving under the age of 21.
If a person is convicted of any offense in Virginia, the offense cannot be expunged from their record. The only way to expunge a record is to have the charge dismissed and then to apply for expungement.
Contacting a Fairfax Underage DUI Attorney
It is important to consult with an experienced Fairfax underage DUI lawyer if you have been accused of an offense. A dedicated attorney will be able to examine all the evidence that has been brought against you and determine where the prosecution may have difficulty proving an element of their case.
In addition, a lawyer would be able to mitigate some of the long-term effects of having an underage DUI. DUIs can have severe repercussions on an individual’s future. A criminal record could affect educational, housing, and job opportunities. Working with a lawyer who is thinking about your future is imperative. Call an attorney that could work earnestly to protect your freedom.